The Riemann Hypothesis

PeterJ

Not sure if this the right place for the question. Please move this post if not.

Is there anyone here able to help me understand how R's Z-function is used to create his famous landscape?

I will never understand the Z-function but am happy to treat it as a black box. What I'm trying to grasp, among other things, is what numbers have to be used as inputs in order to produce the necessary outputs.

My thought is that each output value must have an input value associated with it. Yet I've never seen a discussion of the inputs, only the outputs. So maybe I'm misunderstanding something very basic.

Just a discussion in natural language would be fine. I am not a mathematician.

Thanks.

I'm no expert on this, frankly I'd say we're at about the same level, but I'm next to certain you get the landscape just by plotting the zeta function. The Z function is a complex function, taking as input and returning as output a complex number. I would imagine taking the absolute value (which always returns a positive real number regardless of the input) of the outputs would give you the landscape you're talking about, ie. the landscape is made out of all the points with coordinates (Re(z), Im(z), Abs[Zeta(z)]), where z is any complex number. If you go through all the complex numbers, you get the whole landscape.

But again, this is only a conclusion drawn from common sense and what little I know about the function. I would prefer someone more familiar with the Zeta function to confirm my reasoning. Also, I'm not sure what level of mathematics you're familiar with, so I hope the above is understandable enough.

Edited by Shadow

Thanks. Not many people seem to know much about this.

So do we enter each integers in turn, each with a range of imaginary components, and the landscape includes all possible complex values? (Or a sample of all values).

I'm wondering if it is possible to list the input values that create non-trivial zeros.