Calculus

lightburst

I'm a CS student and the only classes (or class) I had on Calculus was one that only involves getting derivatives and integration with very (very) trivial applications.

I seriously doubt that Calculus is JUST that. Anything I should be learning about? Rather can someone point me to more materials?

Edited by lightburst

I'm a CS student and the only classes (or class) I had on Calculus was one that only involves getting derivatives and integration with very (very) trivial applications.

I seriously doubt that Calculus is JUST that. Anything I should be learning about? Rather can someone point me to more materials?

Humm. Choose your poison it has applications in everything involving continuous variables (and many things that don't).

Everything from mechanics to quantum physics, signal analysis, population modelling, chemistry, economics. It'd almost be quicker to name things that don't involve calculus.

Name something you find interesting that involves non-discrete variables and someone here should be able to point you to an application of calculus nearby.

Understanding it may be a bit of a stretch without doing the basic stuff first, but it might at least help motivate you when slogging through it.

That sounds a bit light for a computer science curriculum.

You should probably take a calculus-based physics class. Calculus was invented as part of Newton's development of mechanics. You shuld also take a class in linear algebra or a combination of linear algebra and ordinary differential equations.

You might also consider an introductory course in Real Analysis, which is basically "calculus done right". Two excellent texts are Elements of Real Analysis by Bartle and Principles of Mathematical Analysis by Rudin, both junior-senior undergraduate level books.

Humm. Choose your poison it has applications in everything involving continuous variables (and many things that don't).