python help?

dragonstar57

"python myfirstprogram.py" is the correct code, but you need to run it in the plain command prompt, not in the Python REPL.

In other words, don't go:

$ python
Python 2.5.1 (r251:54863, May  2 2007, 16:56:35) 
[GCC 4.1.2 (Ubuntu 4.1.2-0ubuntu4)] on linux2 
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> $python myfirstprograp.py

Do this:

$ python myfirstprograp.py

And the $ indicates the beginning of the command prompt line, not something you type in.

To make matters short (and not explaining what you did wrong - it only really matters if you are not using Windows, which seems rather unlikely). I'm not a python expert, but you could try

import myfirstprograp.py

or

execfile("myfirstprograp.py")

@Capn: My suspicion is that dragonstar might simply not have a console.

Edited by timo

python myfirstprogram.py

SyntaxError invalid syntax

python myfirstprogram.py

^

import myfirstprogram.py

traceback <most recent call last?>:

file"<stdin>", line 1, in <module>

ImporteError: no module named myfirstprogram.py

ececfile("myfirstprogram.py")

SyntaxError: EOL while scanning string literal

this is not working...:( :(

Windows has Command Prompt, but execfile() should work too.

To make matters short (and not explaining what you did wrong - it only really matters if you are not using Windows, which seems rather unlikely). I'm not a python expert, but you could try

import myfirstprograp.py

or

execfile("myfirstprograp.py")

@Capn: My suspicion is that dragonstar might simply not have a console.

i'm using windows xp

and the "program" that i am typing my code into is called

python.exe

Edited by dragonstar57

Go to Start->All Programs->Accessories. Fire up Command Prompt. Save your Python program directly in C:/. In Command Prompt, type:

"python.exe nameofyourpythonprogram.py"

ececfile("myfirstprogram.py")

SyntaxError: EOL while scanning string literal

This just means it couldn't find the file.