Asking for Guidance ...

khaled

I am a computer science student, interested in theoretical computer sciences ...

I have improved myself in Algorithms, and had a basic course in Discrete Mathematics,

My main interest lies in Mathematical Logic, and my question is

What do I need to get in order to improve myself in Mathematical Logic ..?

I'm a bachelor-degree student, we studied Pre-Calculus, Calculus, Linear Algebra, Probability and Statistics, and Discrete Mathematics,

I can't ask the mathematics department to get a course,

and Yes, I'm asking for hints on a self-study on Mathematical Logic ...

Edited by khaled

If cross-attending lectures is not common in your university, then perhaps ask a professor if it's still ok for him for you to attend his/her lecture. Usually, professors are not exactly offended by students with a real interest in their lecture, and math lectures tend not to be completely crowded. You don't even need a formal grade, so there's no problem with possible bureaucratic hindrances. I seriously recommend trying this route, since supervised learning is imho superior to self-learning in abstract field like logic (the biggest problem in logic is that it's often counterintuitive and that intuition is hard to switch off without formal training).

I'm afraid I have no advice for self-learning, in case you really have to fall back on that.

are there general courses in Mathematics related to Mathematical Logic .. so that I can

look up courses that I can cross-attend in my university,

also, we share the same building with mathematics\science college,

so I can easily cross-attend ...

I'd start with looking for courses named something with "logic" offered by the math department. That should give some results. While doing so for some random university, I figured that in case you cannot attend a course, the course descriptions are likely to contain relevant literature.

I can't ask the mathematics department to get a course...