Questions to elementary biochemistry

strikken

I'm new here..so hello everyone!:) *Smiling*

I'm a first year student with some questions to biochemistry, trying to understand this to the spring exam. I'm from Scandinavia and not that good in English..but I'll hope this is somewhat understandable and clear.

1. Enzymes doesn't influence equibrilium, but they lower the activation energy. I wonder how this is possible? Isn't the activation energy expressed in free Gibbs energy? If so, how can the equibrilium be unchanged? I thought delta Gibbs was the same as the distance to equibrilium. Or are we maybe talking about different delta Gs?

2. Under ATP synthesis the enzym ATP synthase undergoes rotational catalysis. I understand that something is rotated, but I don't understand what. Is it a change in the seat themselves, or do they only change places among eachother?

3. Under starvation keton bodies can deliver energy to the brain. Ok enough that the brain can make AcCoA from the keton body acetoacetate, but how can AcCoA give energy further through oxidation in the citric acid cycle? I thought that there was a lack of intermediates in the citric acid cycle under starvation, to use the intermediates to build up as much sugar as possible, unless this situation only occurs in the liver. Comments appreciated.

4. How can insulin stimulate the degradation of proteins? I cannot see the logic in this statement, because, as far I can see, this will lead to a less effective removal of blood glucose as pyruvate and AcCoa from glucose will get competition from the same degradation products from proteins.