Air cannon mathematics

bishnu

Im not posting this in the physics forum because i feel its more of a amth question. My friends and i have bulit an air cannon and i wish to analysis it mathematically...after a couple of hours i came up with an equation i think would do. I was wondering if people could look at my work and see of they see anything wrong with it.

First off my aircannon has a simple chamber then a valve and then a barrel. You pump air in to the camber and then let relase the valve and then the projectile is shot(ps i have never used LaTex before so we will see how this goes)

first off i started with the equation

[math] p=\frac{F}{A}[/math]

In this problem i am going to assume the barrel fits perfectly in the barrel so there is no room inbetween the barrel and projectile.

[math]pA_b=F[/math]

[math] p_iv_i=p_fv_f[/math]

[math]\frac{p_i*v_i}{v^i+A_b*x}[/math]ab= area of the barrel and x=distance traveled in the barrel

[math]f=\frac{p_iv_iaf_b}{v_i+a_bx}[/math]

this equation tells the force on the projectile at anytime druring the barrel

friction=kv^2 k=constant of proptionality

[math]f=\frac{p_iv_ia_b}{v_i+a_bx}-kv^2[/math]

now intergrate both sides from 0 to the length of the barrel xb to get the energy

now im getting lazy of typing in all that stuff so ill just tell you what i did from here on i substituted 1/2mv^2 for energy now i just sepertated the v and keep the v on the other side in the friction equation. Now i just subsitituted this eqaution into the v in the friction part and did that infintly many times which gives you 2 infinite series they converege and i did a little algebra to reduce it and i got

[math]v=(\frac{2}{m_p+2kx_b}(p_iv_i\ln({\frac{a_bx_b}{v_i}+1})+\frac{2k^2x^2_b}{m_p}))^(1/2)[/math]

i want to know if anyone can spot any errors

Surely an easier way to do this would be to estimate the time the force of the air acts on the projectile after you release the valve (i.e. the order of milliseconds) and then you know that: