Need some basic motor specs...

Guest staternj

Guest staternj

I need to identify a motor/system that has sufficient capacity to open and close double hung windows at a speed consistent with that at which a person would raise and close them, figure about 16 inches of movement per sec with a maximum range of 18 inches. The apparatus would need to be capable of repeating this operations several times a minute for durations up to about 3 or 4 hours. Any recommendations? This is for a public health research product and I'm a chemist not an engineer so pardon the lack of mechanical fluency in this description. However, I am capable of handling the mechanics once identified.

I know that many sites sell motors, but they are a bit overwhelming in the amount of details provided... Ideally, I'd like info about the type of motor, the recommended horsepower, torque and other specs that are relevant.

Thanks,

Peter

I`ve made window and curtain open/closers before from mid 80`s printer motors (low geared) also EX wheelchair or electric scooter motors work great too :)

set on a timer with micro switch sensors, they can be made to look like there`s "someone home" when you`re on holliday too :)

if this sounds like the kind of thing you`re after, I`ll be happy to explain more when I know the exact details of your project :)

Guest staternj

Thanks for the response and the offer of assistance. I'll tell you what I have so far, which is not that much different than my original posting.