DB and Site Security (PHP/mySQL)

mooeypoo

Ahoy.

Well. I've had the unfortunate experience the other day; some idiot kid tried to add himself to my skype contacts. When I (quite politely, I must add.. he's an ass) refused, he stated he is going to hack into my website.

I'm a PHP/mySQL programmer, so I know a thing or two about servers. I wasn't all *that* worried about the actual code (server access is not really something he could acquire, at least not in his very low level, as I was convinced he has later on). But I figured I probably *should* do some reading and improve my security.

My website is just an example of what I can do in PHP/mySQL for potential customers or just people who want me to program something for them, so most of the modules are harmless to the site (I have 2 "modes" -- realsite and 'playmode'. Playmode is harmless, goes to a completely different table and not affecting the actual website).

But still, it's communicating with the database.

Reading a bit about SQL injection, I added some measures of security. I made these major steps in a generic function for all inputs. The function, generally, does this:

1. adds slashes (addslashes() function) just for extra measure to avoid " or ' in the injection.

2. Replaces < with < and > with &gt just in case.

3. uses the generic php function --> mysql_real_escape_string() with the input text

I also added a CAPTCHA script.

I only have 3 potentially "hazardous" scripts in my site: guestbook.php (not really supposed to hold info, I'm deleting it periodically, it's just an example of a very simple one), News Module, and Registration.