Green Fluorescent Protein

biomat

Hi,

I know GFP plasmid can be easily introduced and expressed in E. coli but I am wondering if the same plasmid that works in E. coli will work in other species?

I would like to express GFP in Staph. epi. but I am no geneticist and I do not know if the plasmid has to be specifically tailored for the species. Any help would be appreciated.

My purpose is to observe bacterial attachment in situ by epifluorescent microscopy.

Thanks

biomatt

Hi' date='

I know GFP plasmid can be easily introduced and expressed in E. coli but I am wondering if the same plasmid that works in E. coli will work in other species?

I would like to express GFP in Staph. epi. but I am no geneticist and I do not know if the plasmid has to be specifically tailored for the species. Any help would be appreciated.

My purpose is to observe bacterial attachment in situ by epifluorescent microscopy.

Thanks

biomatt[/quote']

Biomatt,

I am no expert on this but I have created a GFP mutant in Hylicobacter pylori for flagellar biogenesis studies, so I have somewhat of an idea. The reason GFP in a standard plasmid will work in E. coli is because the plasmid the GFP gene is located in contains an origin of replication (commonly referred to as ori , it will usually have a number designation that refers a research to its exact sequence since there is more than one origin of replication recognized by E. coli) that is recognized by the polymerase in E. coli and allow it to replicate i.e. the plasmid is passed to the progeny and not lost during replication. If you attempted to transform this same plasmid into Staph. epi., it will be lost after the first generation of cells since it can't replicate. To get around this you have to do what it referred to as homologous recombination. This basically means that the GFP needs to be cloned between a copy of gene found in the genome of Staph. epi. This Staph gene could be one used for attachment or creation of a biofilm. You will