Fluorophore Questions

Would a "non-fluorophore"  emit the same amount of light absorbed/not emit a photon after absorbing light? Basically, how would a non-fluorophore act differently from a fluorophore?
Also, do scientists use Stokes' shift to determine whether something will shine under a UV/Infrared light? If so, how exactly?
Why do fluorophores have to be cyclic/have high resonance energy?
Why do fluorophores bind to nucleic acids? I know they help detect stuff, but why would a nucleic acid anf fluorophore organically bind together?
Any responses to these questions would be great; I'm sorry if I used the wrong terminology — I'm not an expert.

9 hours ago, KnowledgesSeeker said:

Would a "non-fluorophore"  emit the same amount of light absorbed/not emit a photon after absorbing light? Basically, how would a non-fluorophore act differently from a fluorophore?
Also, do scientists use Stokes' shift to determine whether something will shine under a UV/Infrared light? If so, how exactly?
Why do fluorophores have to be cyclic/have high resonance energy?
Why do fluorophores bind to nucleic acids? I know they help detect stuff, but why would a nucleic acid anf fluorophore organically bind together?
Any responses to these questions would be great; I'm sorry if I used the wrong terminology — I'm not an expert.

As I recall, when a non-fluorophore is excited by absorption of radiation, it can lose energy in a number of ways that are non-radiative. These will include collisional deactivation and also in some cases bond-breaking (e.g. if excitation is to a state involving a suitable antibonding orbital). I'm not sure I've seen the word "phosphorophore", but some molecules lose energy radiatively, not by fluorescence but via intersystem crossing to a triplet state, emission from which is known as phosphorescence rather than fluorescence.