protein purification HELP..

Guest blah

Guest blah

hello I am new to this, and I don't even know if what i m doing now is correct:) erm could I have some help on this exam questionnn plllss :) thanks alot

Protein A was purified using ammonium sulf. precipitation and cation xchange chromatography. The total protein at each step was 500mg, crude extract; 200mg after precipitation; and 10mg after cation xchange. The total activity of Prtotein A was 25 units, crude extract; 15 units, after precipitation; and 7,5 units after cation xchange.

How do I determine the %yield, purification factor, and specific activity of protein A at the final step?

hopefully someone else will reply to confirm/correct me as I'm doing this from memory and I've never actually had any real life experience with this stuff (i'm just an undergraduate) but I think the following is correct.

ok well my understanding is that your % yield is 30% (7.5/25 x100)

Basically your total activity is directly proportional to the amount of protein A you have. Therefore if you lose some of your target protein (protein A) you lose activity as has happened. Therefore you yield goes down. It should simply be a process of working out how much your final amount of protein A is compared with the initial amount. This can be worked out using the activity, what % of final total activity do you have compared with your initial amount? I've calculated that above to be 30%.

---

I think your final purification factor is 15. I assume this basically means how pure is the final sample compared with the original, crude, sample. So again, your total activity is related to the total amount of protein A you have. So in the crude extract you have 500mg of protein containing protein that has 25 units of activity. In your final one you have 10mg containing protein that has 7.5 units of activity.