QBism: Quantum Bayes & the Brain in Nature

kristalris

Physics: QBism puts the scientist back into science

26 March 2014

A participatory view of science resolves quantum paradoxes and finds room in classical physics for 'the Now', says N. David

Mermin.http://www.nature.com/news/physics-qbism-puts-the-scientist-back-into-science-1.14912

Now in Nature: Quantum Bayes in the Brain: enjoy.

Article tools

Hundred and four views and a roaring silence! Very probably a retired nuclear physicist that finely feels free enough to state what he actually thinks.

In a discussion elsewhere it was noted that the article did't convince on Qbism being the merger between QM and Bayes. Nauseating as it me be to some: current science thinks that Bayes is in the brain:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bayesian_approaches_to_brain_function

Well if so and given that QM stems from the brain then we already have that merger.

Part of me is wondering if the reason I'm studying physics as of late is because there is going to be a paradigm shift. I mean, I can teleologically see the reasons for why I'm studying physics as of late, from my own memories and perspective. However, it appears that there is a trend about where people are not too sure where to go in physics.

Yeah, I can perceive "the measurement problem."

What's whacky is that from a block universe view, it's not a problem: It is. The Daoists had it down: Reality is what it is. All of that sounds pretty circular. Einstein did not seem to have cognitive dissonance with the block universe theory. And it makes me wonder if "science" really exists at all. If there is no free will, then everything science attempts to do is an illusion: Everything is predetermined, even scientific results. It's weird, because the results would have never been obtained if the subject was never there: At least from block universe theory.