Warping Space-time

hawksmere

Is it possible that space-time can be warped and curved differently from place to place in the universe? Euclidean space being flat and Minkowski is curved, So Pythagora theorem doesn't apply in curved space. But as s² = (ct)²-x² suggest that it's a universal law and all curves are the same everywhere in spacetime. Or does the curve warp? Sorry if this is a silly question but i was trying to decipher the curvage between an (all even) ball and a golf ball with indents. So given this, space-time may not be the same everywhere thus different for each observer. How does this relate to e=mc²?

Okay i'm not an expert but what I well do know in that E =mc2 is Einsteins relativity theorie that states that energy(the E) have mass(the m), and with the "c" being the speed of light in a vacume( In school they say space is a vacume) so thats the only way i can relate it. I would love to know more about his theory as well if someone can perhaps post a link or just give me a basic explanation. i only made knowledge with it in order to use De Broglie's -wavelength when working with waves(Light).

Edited by CraXshot

I think that is actually a misconception. E=mc² actually means energy = mass x c (which isn't actually the speed of light but the speed of a massless partlicle) squared. We state the photons are massless but thier are studies to suggest different. Dividing E=ymc² by p =ymv leaves E/p=c²/v which for the case v=c means E=cp. Therefore, the bottom line is that energy and momentum could conceivably be nonzero even for an object with zero mass (but only if it travels at speed c. That surely gives us massless particles.

If we ever found that photons have mass (which obviously we haven't yet) we will have to c will equal 'the speed of massless particles as a universal constant'. So it is a way of measuring a constant. Not sure how it relates to ethers but that discussion always seems to run dry.