Formatting an external drive

Baby Astronaut

I just got a brand new Seagate 500GB external drive. It came bundled with stuff I didn't want, so I formatted the drive.

And that's something I'm not used to as it's my first time attempting it. So I probably screwed up.

The first thing I did is to right-click on the drive letter and select "Format". I guessed XP would determine the best option, and since "NTFS" was highlighted I clicked that.

So after forever, the drive's clear of everything and so I start moving files over. No problem. Then when I go to delete or move some of those files later on, I get an error. Seems all folders were given a "read-only" attribute. I try unchecking those, but I'm denied access.

According to Microsoft, you're supposed to claim ownership of a folder with that problem. But since I can't understand their directions, I'm just going to reformat. It'll be much quicker than the days or weeks I'll spend figuring out directions by technically-minded people. Also, what if claiming ownership of folders on an external drive makes the same problem for transfer to other computers? No thanks. I'd rather not have anything Microsoft "fixing" the drive.

Here's what I really need to know.

An article at the pendriveapps website mentions that anything on a Fat32 drive is transferable between Linux, Mac, and Windows. If true, it's my best option anyway because I do have a user-friendly Linux named Mint on another desktop, and probably will get a cheap older MAC later on.

I clicked on a their link to an article for a tiny program named Fat32 Format (72KB). Supposedly it will allow a Fat32 on a drive over the 32GB limit imposed by Windows.

Because of the compatibility of files on a Fat32 with other systems, I'm guessing there won't be an issue like the one I had with the transferred files.