any good suggestions on IT program?

M8

hi, I'm doing my master of bioinformatics right now, but gradually i found that I became more interested in the computer or the IT part rather than the bio part. and i think the computer science kind of fits me so I am considering a PhD degree on the computer science or IT right now.

but i was not majored in computer related subject when in university, so I want some information about the computer science or IT area in terms of its future, subjects and some suggestions on schools. I know i can google it but still your experiences are very valuable to me! thanks!

by the way what i've done most are language programing with Perl.

Are you saying that your present Masters program is in biology? That's interesting, I didn't know that there were post-graduate programs on bioinformatics that were not part of IT/CS programs. Makes sense, though -- what do us computer nerds know about saliva, other than the fact that it comes out of our mouths when we stare a pictures of Jessica Alba? (grin)

In answer to your question, Computer Science would be the most rigorous choice and if you can handle the math and you have some experience with programming then I think most people would call that your best option. Information Technology is considered less demanding, but is certainly an important field and becoming more so each year. As computer technology has matured, CS seems to be becoming more of a research and theory degree with IT (and related degree programs) taking up the engineering side of things. But I think it's still generally the case that the CS degree-holders have the widest career path, and typically take up the most challenging programming tasks.