Lipase extraction

cristianammg

Hello everyone :) (This is my first post here)

I'm a PhD student (More Info) and I need a method to extract the produced lipase from an effluent. This lipase is from Y. lipolytica or C. cylindracea. I found lots of methods on the Internet and articles/papers but I want something really simple/rudimentary that doesn’t significantly modify the medium were lipase was produced.

Could you please help me? :confused:

Thank you all…

Lipases are enzymes - proteins essentially.

As far as I know, a change in pH can change the solubility of proteins a lot. If they are soluble, you might convert it into insoluble, and use a filter.

Alternatively, you might try a real extraction, with a solvent (any water-insoluble solvent might work). But in a biological medium, any solvent will extract a lot more than just your enzyme... and it might kill your microorganisms.

Can't you somehow immobilize the enzymes while they're still in your medium? I know there are tricks to immobilize enzymes, but I am not familiar with the techniques.

p.s. (1) I'm a chemical engineer - therefore only half-qualified to give you advise.

p.s. (2) have a look in our other sub-forums too. We also have a Biochemistry and Molecular Biology forum that might interest you.

• 2 weeks later...
Lipases are enzymes - proteins essentially.

As far as I know, a change in pH can change the solubility of proteins a lot. If they are soluble, you might convert it into insoluble, and use a filter.

Alternatively, you might try a real extraction, with a solvent (any water-insoluble solvent might work). But in a biological medium, any solvent will extract a lot more than just your enzyme... and it might kill your microorganisms.

Can't you somehow immobilize the enzymes while they're still in your medium? I know there are tricks to immobilize enzymes, but I am not familiar with the techniques.

p.s. (1) I'm a chemical engineer - therefore only half-qualified to give you advise.