Adult Homework: Atmospheric methane effects on planet

maxae

Hello. I'm a writer working on the second draft of my novel, and need to bounce some of the science off people who are more science-minded than I. The basic plot device that I need to develop/debunk in my story is that atmospheric methane is at flammable levels (i.e. just over 5%). To keep this open-ended, what effects do you predict this would have near the planet's surface, and consequently, what consequences would there be for life on the planet? Of course there would be increased temperatures and the like, but I need a more well-rounded view of what would happen so I can measure the plausibility of this plot device.

Thanks in advance.

Sounds like a story....

Maybe I can help more if you get beyond the dynamics of maintaining that mixture on a global scale.

If you have enough methane to burn, then it will burn until the levels fall below that required to support combustion. Alternatively if you keep replacing the methane, then you eventually run out of enough oxygen to support combustion--at about 12% oxygen (today = 21%)--but that's a lot of methane to keep replacing. And speaking of keeping that level up at 5%, what about photo-oxidation of methane into CO2?

...and what of oxidation/reduction (redox) reactions?

Early Earth's atmosphere was a "reducing" atmosphere and could maintain lots of methane; but now that we have an "oxidizing" atmosphere, a chemically reduced compound such as methane won't survive for very long.

What time frame are you looking at for this scenario to develop, and for it to play out? Does life survive? Do you know of the Lake Nyos example? Lake Nyos and similar cases are not about methane (that rises in air and disperses), but they are about CO2 that sinks in the air to form invisible streams, ponds, rivers, and lakes described as "death pockets" in low-lying areas; but it's an example of an altered atmosphere.

~