Moderators; Admins; Etc.

Hello!

I'm a student at Oxford University currently studying Philosophy and Law. I find myself learning small percentages of other subjects, due to the nature of conversation in a 'universities environment'. I live in a rented detached abode - with six room-mates; we all have our own opinions on life and delve into our imaginations to answer many of the unanswered questions, for self-fulfilment.

We were browsing 4c, and it lead us here; more directly towards the 'Speculation' section. We also noticed that 99% of all threads made in that section are immediately over-run with moderators and administrators - who immediately dismiss any idea when, to their knowledge, it is incorrect.

The warning given in every single thread is: "This is not Science".

Then you explain your actions by perplexing the - 'Theory' or 'Speculation'. A few of the threads that took my interest were very interesting, and sounded like great ideas; not great scientific proof though.

I think where you (mods, admins) go wrong, is broadening your minds, and understanding that the past is ---> behind us. "Scientific Evidence" that supports many of your current theories could be wrong; something explained by someone in 1950 could have been explained wrongly, or knowingly. If you don't accept the term 'flaws' into any theory anyone conjures, then how do you accept the ones that are set in your mind?

Who's to say that things didn't go differently many years ago, and who's to say that many of the rules that you use in modern day science are edited, played "Chinese Whispers" along the line. I'm 100% sure that in many cases, a rule can be exchanged with another rule and still be correct; that rule may fall down for something else, if it does, then the second 'thing' may need a different rule.

What makes you guys correct?

Please answer this question, in the direction of four people.

Me: Philosophy (2nd Year)

Steve: Physics (1st Year)

Emily: Media Major (2nd Year)