Cheaper Petrol for all!

infinitesolid

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

yeah, whats going on here?

if your design is some buckets on a loop for bringing oil to the surface then not only have you not invented anything new(such technology has existed since mesopotamia many millenia ago) but you have also not invented anything practical. using a pump works much better.

With the $Billions currently being spent by oil companies on research, how is it that no one has come up with this idea before? Could it be because this idea isn't feasible? Not meaning to discourage your ideas, but I don't see it as solving anything. I'm not an expert on oil, however I see some potential problems with your idea:

Are you proposing to dig a very large hole (say approx. 600 mm?) for your buckets instead of a small hole (approx. 150mm) for a pipe? For the distance of a typical oil well say 1500 m? That is very much more digging.

Also, are you aware that a pump/pipe combination is much more efficient than your bucket mechanism? Again you will get less oil from more work...

Some oil wells are under pressure and will erupt crude oil in a "gusher" once the overlying rock has been breached. This is an environmental nightmare as well as a waste of oil. Fortunately, this can be readily capped off when a pipe is used, resulting in no oil loss/escape. How do you propose to cap off your open pit required for your buckets?

Additionally, modern oil wells often inject water, natural gas, CO2, and/or other substances to force the oil out more efficiently because of the higher underground pressure. Typically this is done to extend the life of the well when it becomes old and depleted. With are large open pit, how do you propose to maintain this additional pressure?

Just some things for you to think about...