Hybrid Animals

Alan McDougall

Greering I am new, Engineer,

Hybrid animals,

I have a few questions relating to hybrid animals.

The great cat family seems to interbreed and result in hybrids. Why is this?

The horse family Donkey, hourse, etc, also do so, can they breed with a zebra or is to too remote genetically. Two questions?

The dog family produces hybrids easily. Why is this?

The ape and monkey family do not produce hybrids. Why is this?

Forgive my ignorance on genetics as I am an Engineer not a geneticist.

Anything that you can add about hybrid animals will be most appreciated.

Human Ape hybrid for example!

Regards

Alan

liger.jpg

Hi Alan,

Interesting issue you raised re. Cats interbreeding, but Apes/monkeys not...

Regarding Cats:

Yes, Lions & Tigers can breed (both has 38 chromosomes), but this hybrid will usually be sterile. At meiosis, when sperm/egg cells are created, the chromosomes need to lign up to allow homologue pairing & cross-over to occur. If the chromosomes are not the same size, this can not occur, when the cell then does divide to form haploid cells (and it is likely not to), it don't end up with a copy of each chromosome it needs, and/or multiple copies of some, and none of others. either Over and above all these obstacles, issues like growth dysplasia also will come into play. Not sure if 2 Litigers ever had a successful mating,but even then you might still have the same issue around chromosomes lining up. My assumption would be that the cats are more closely related (i.e. evolutionary speaking) than apes & monkeys.

Alan,

You might find the following website pretty interesting !

http://www.hemmy.net/2006/06/19/top-10-hybrid-animals/

Edited by TransomicAves

• 1 month later...

I know for sure horses/ mules/ donkeys or any other animal of the Equid Family can breed with Zebras, it's an awkward little thing called a Zebroid. Apes an Mokeys are in different Orders, and most probalay, can't breed because of this.