Computer Science career

PlanetJeff

I want to become a computer scientist, I love computers and I would love to have a career working with computers. I'm going to community college but I might transfer to a bigger and better college after a few years. How difficult is it to become a computer scientist? I'm not very good at science but I'm willing to work as hard as I can to get where I need to be and succeed in computer science. Is being a computer scientist a hard career or is it a reliable career?

I want to become a computer scientist, I love computers and I would love to have a career working with computers.

What do you love about computers?

If you like the hardware aspects of working with computers look into computer/network administration.

If you like using computers for problem solving then CS is definitely what you should do.

How difficult is it to become a computer scientist? I'm not very good at science but I'm willing to work as hard as I can to get where I need to be and succeed in computer science.

A B.S. in CS isn't too difficult. It will require a decent amount of work however. I am a Computer Engineer which means I took half electrical engineering courses (circuit design) and half software courses. I always considered semesters with more CS classes the easier semesters. There will be labs and lots of programming assignments so be prepared for that.

Is being a computer scientist a hard career or is it a reliable career?

I would consider it a safe career. CS and engineers don't typically have problems finding a job. I knew a lot of CS and CPEs that graduated with me and I can't recall any of them not finding a job.

If problem solving/critical thinking is something you enjoy doing, then you'll probably like the field.

A B.S. in CS isn't too difficult. It will require a decent amount of work however. [...] I would consider it a safe career. CS and engineers don't typically have problems finding a job.