Sorry about the downtime -- we're back!

Cap'n Refsmmat

Unfortunately our domain name registration happened to expire on Wednesday, causing us to go down for about a day until the, uh, responsible party could be hunted down politely asked to renew the domain. We should be back now, though you may find it takes a few hours before different ISPs catch up and start letting you access the site. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Apologies from myself also - we will try to put in place some measures to ensure this doesn't recur. None of your posts, threads, etc will have been lost in this process. Thanks for your patience and look forward to once more hosting your discussions!

• Dave featured and unfeatured this topic

56 minutes ago, Cap'n Refsmmat said:

responsible party could be hunted down politely asked to renew the domain.

I have some experience from similar situations. Nice to see you fixed the issues rather promptly!

Anyway, I didn't know how much I appreciate the site (and it's members) until scienceforums.net suddenly was offline.

58 minutes ago, Ghideon said:

I have some experience from similar situations. Nice to see you fixed the issues rather promptly!

Anyway, I didn't know how much I appreciate the site (and it's members) until scienceforums.net suddenly was offline.

Same thought exactly.   I went to go write a post and was immediately confused and saddened by the apparent loss of the community.

3 hours ago, Cap'n Refsmmat said:

Unfortunately our domain name registration happened to expire on Wednesday,

I came to that conclusion about 2 pm today when poking around whois, looking for any info on the outage.

Suprisingly the registration end date is public domain.

The alleged server host (UK servers.com)  were rude and unhelpful when I phoned them to ask if they knew when you ywould be back up.

So all in all I am glad to see you back.

So let's party.

beerchug.gif.0055f395024abe65cca459fc83238758.gif

3 hours ago, Cap'n Refsmmat said: