Maths skills for entomology

Pikaia

Hi,

I'm probably going to sound like an idiot asking this, hopefully it isn't too generalised as a question. I also hope I'm posting this in the right section of the forum-what sort of mathematical skills and disciplines are commonly used in entomological fields? I'm just asking as I'm very interested in hopefully having a career in the future in something to do with entomology. I'm also asking as I don't currently have the best math skills, but I am studying at the moment and hope to get better with maths as I progress with said studies. 

Anyway, thanks for looking, just thought I'd ask out of curiosity. 

I will preface this by stating that I do not think we have an entomologist as a member here. So unfortunately you may not get an in-depth answer regarding the methodologies used in that field. However, I can answer in a more general aspect with regard to the use of maths in biology but first:

1 hour ago, Pikaia said:

I'm probably going to sound like an idiot asking this, hopefully it isn't too generalised as a question.

Seeking knowledge never makes you seem like an idiot (in fact, the opposite, i.e. stating assumptions as facts is much more likely to do that).

I'm also asking as I don't currently have the best math skills, but I am studying at the moment and hope to get better with maths as I progress with said studies.

In biology mathematics is generally used as a (often superficial) tool. I.e. often there is not a lot of in-depth knowledge on the maths itself (with specialized exceptions). More commonly folks apply certain mathematical methods for a defined set of applications (such as simple correlation studies, hypothesis testing and so on). That being said, it is not necessarily a good situation as many researchers really boost their research by applying or even developing new models to gain better insights using their data.