A fly's perception of time.

Royston

I remember watching a programme, where they stated that a fly experiences huge dilation of time. For example if you moved your hand slowly towards a fly it would percieve it as motionless. How is this possible ?

As humans, events can seem shorter...if we're enjoying ourselves, or longer...waiting for a bus for instance. We certainly don't see events visibly slow down. Is this just down to the speed visual information is being relayed to the fly, like high speed film ?

I keep on wondering if this has any implications towards relativity...if events are slower to one life form, how do they fit into the frame work of another...obviously they do, but it's kind of bugging me.

Im no expert on the subject but if i had to give an educated guess id say that the time an organism perceives is due to the speed of which the inputs are processed by it's brain.

For instance, if things are processed VERY fast like a fly it would make sense for it's conscious "clock" to slow down so it can make more decisions based on the information it is receiving.

Whereas a slower animal may process things very slowly and would therefore have a fast conscious "clock" and would have less time to make decisions because of long processing times.

I hope this makes sense because it found it difficult to get across what i mean, im sure it is decipherable though.

I keep on wondering if this has any implications towards relativity...if events are slower to one life form, how do they fit into the frame work of another...obviously they do, but it's kind of bugging me.

Wtf would the perception of time to an animal have anything to do with relativity?

I think hes saying that we may have a wrong perception of time. Maybe what we think as being "time" is totaly distorted, and it is actualy faster to us. But maybe no animal has a real perception of time.

IDK, im just throwing in my 2 cents.