African lungfish circulatory system

Hi guys,

I am studying a schematic diagram given here:
https://biology.stackexchange.com/questions/34067/are-there-fishes-with-a-double-circulatory-system/34071
I don't know what book is this picture taken from, but I hope it accurately describes the african lungfish circulatory system.
If I understand that correctly, the main differences between a fish circulatory system and this, are following:

• lungs output directly into a separate atrium, instead of mixing output together with other organs that do not contribute to oxygenation into a single atrium
  • lungs have separate input from gills through pulmonary artery, instead of through dorsal aorta that brings blood to other organs
  • dorsal aorta receives input from gills through ductus, and from a gill bypass that receives input from the separate ventricle filled by lungs

Does anyone know why is that bypass presented double there, what does that mean?

... comparison may be in fact with a fish circulatory system that has a swimming bladder with a respiratory function developed to a certain extent, but not "replumbed" in this way to enable better efficiency.

I understand that pulmonary artery vasomotor segment plays a key role in bimodal respiration and circulation, as it dilates or constricts that vessel depending on emersion, or immersion into water, while ductus is antagonistically regulated. Can anyone point me at a document that explains exactly that mechanism in detail?

Also, although the circulatory network topology is one key difference, the actual difference between lungs and a swimming bladder enabled for respiratory function is about the structure of the organ, for example the breathing surface area and such things, ie it is about how the organ is built, and not how it is connected to the system?

Edited by Hrvoje
error in the ordering of words