dna evolution

im a layman so please feel free to correct me here, but simply. but i am under the impression that the 'missing piece' in the theory of evolution is a transition from simple amino acids, to dna. is that right?

so we have the miller-urey experiment in 1952 showing where amino acids came from. then once the first life sprang up, we can show it evolving. but it seems to me we cant show where dna came from. we can only hypothesise. 

so i wonder, are there scientists now frantically trying to show how dna could have come about?  are there "miller-urey" experiments going on, but for dna?

and i dont mean computer modelling, i mean actual real experiments.

if not, why not. and if there are, then after more than 50 years why cant they come up with anything yet.

There is no missing piece in the theory. What's missing is the need to stretch the theory to cover abiogenesis. It wasn't ever supposed to be about how life began. It's about the changes in allele frequency within a population over time.

46 minutes ago, jfoldbar said:

'missing piece

I thought it was the half-monkey-half-human.

Anyway there is plenty of pieces missing, probably some predators ate it.

48 minutes ago, jfoldbar said:

so i wonder, are there scientists now frantically trying to show how dna could have come about?

Probably.

However, we know DNA exists and is being created, and that is roughly enough;

The creation of the first DNA is most likely coïncidence, and proving it could be created by accident does not prove it DID get created by coïncidence, so it would hardly solve any question.

3 hours ago, jfoldbar said:

im a layman so please feel free to correct me here, but simply. but i am under the impression that the 'missing piece' in the theory of evolution is a transition from simple amino acids, to dna. is that right?