Cavendish?

bluescience

I do not know much about the history of science, but for sure Cavendish did lots of work on gases and the properites of different gases. It is therefore possible he knew Boyle's Law and maybe others. I do nor know what Cavendish published and what can be found in his non-published notes.

As for his being shy, several historians have suggested mental problems like autism. Again I am not really an expert in science history, so you will have to do some resarch yourself.

My suggestion is do some 'googleing' and find a good biography.

Good luck and let us know what you find.

Is it true that Cavendish did indeed discover most of the gas laws before the the people they are named after?

And also why was he such an introvert?

first topic in the chemistry section.

Gas law is physics, not chemistry.

and second question is rather.. psychology?

Neither one fits chemistry section though..

Edited by Sensei

It was a slip of the tongue. Of course I meant "gas law is physics".

News to me; I learned it in chemistry.

I'm not the only one.

http://chemwiki.ucdavis.edu/Core/Physical_Chemistry/Physical_Properties_of_Matter/States_of_Matter/Gases/Gas_Laws/The_Ideal_Gas_Law

and I suspect that the people who use it are more likely to be chemists and chemical engineers than physicists.

At the time when it was discovered I'm not sure that the words "chemistry" and "physics " were in common use.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boyle%27s_law

I'm reminded of this

http://xkcd.com/435/

It hardly matters because the issue is one of the history of science; there isn't a "history of science" section, so it's bound to be in the wrong place.

Edited by John Cuthber

News to me; I learned it in chemistry.

It matters when you learned it the first time, not the last time.

I had it the first time, on physics, in primary school, or early high school

Ideal gas law was proposed by Clapeyron

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benoît_Paul_Émile_Clapeyron