A statement of faith

DrP

I am a scientist. Most of my life I have been a Christian and have professed a close and personal relationship with god. I have argued for creationism in the past and have evangelised people, often to the point of annoyance. I have even experienced healing 'miracles' and answers to prayer and have 'felt' god's presence and holy spirit. I am a scientist.

I can no longer call myself a scientist unless I make this statement: I can no longer call myself a Christian!

I can no longer call myself a Christian, not because of the way I act or see the world or through any lack of love compassion. I can no longer call my self a Christian because I am open minded enough to look at all the evidence and I have come to the conclusion that there is no god..... I will change that belief IF I get solid evidence to the contrary..... but good luck with that one.

I feel a little silly for taking a lifetime to come to this conclusion, but I forgive myself (something positive I took from Christianity, lol) because I understand how easy it is to get sucked into this and the psychology involved in believing and wanting to believe. At the end of the day, ALL of my experiences and miracles can be explained in various ways other than god.

I have many reasons for this 'conversion'... I will answer any Q's anyone has - believer or not.

Regards,

Dr P.

Lots of courage in that, man.

Here's my Gospel: an early human, guarding the tribe from predators in the night (let's call him Dirtnose), looks into the darkness and wonders if a lion could be sitting right there in the shadows, there but unseen. The idea festers, he thinks about all the things that might be there, he even tosses his spear into the night a few times to test his idea.

And then one night, he's right. He stares into the shadows, imagines the beast crouching there, and he let's fly with his spear....