Best kits for gene expression analysis in fungi (and other gene expression questions)?

hypervalent_iodine

As per the title, I'm looking at doing some gene expression analysis in S. cerevisiae as well as some pathogenic fungi (C. neoformans, for example). I am fairly okay with extracting the total RNA and assessing integrity of the samples, having done this pretty extensively in my last job, however I am unsure of where I should go for isolating the mRNA. My plan currently is to use the Qiagen RNeasy kit followed by mRNA purification with their poly A minikit (I think it's called Oligotex). It is a little expensive, however. If there are kits that are better or the same in quality for less, I'd be more than willing to try them. Biology is an expensive discipline to be involved in.

My second question is more generally about methods for looking at gene expression. Would it be worth going for a next-gen sequencing approach over a microarray? I have never done microarrays before and do not really know what the output is like. I'm not sure that the extra data is really necessary, which pushes me towards a microarray.

Last question. I have read some papers where they use RT-PCR to confirm their microarray results. Should this also be done with next-gen data?

A couple of things. In general, if you go the kit route, there is not a huge difference between them (on average). Typically, familiarity and practice with a given protocol is a stronger determinant than the kit itself. If you got only one system, such as yeast and under mostly standard condition, RNeasy is fine. If you have different cells and/or may run into situation of low cell count and increase of interfering substances a phenol-type extraction (e.g. trizol is more flexible and does a better job at cleanup).