Question about acceleration due to gravity

Jpruyn

Hi I am new to this and am edger to learn

This is a basic concept I am having a hard time understanding (please bear with me I know this a basic concept)

When a object falls of a high building, is the reason it accelerates towards the ground at 9.8m/s (ignoring wind resistance in this case) because:

: the object is following a geodesic in curved space towards the ground

: As the object gets closer to the ground gravity becomes stronger and time is realistically slower (gravitational time dilation)

:However the velocity of the object is conserved since no force is acting upon it (it is in free fall)

:However since the object is covering the same distance in less time (due to time dilation) it seems that the object has accelerated

Example with arbitrary numbers: It goes from taking 30 seconds a meter to 15 seconds a meter to 7.5 a meter (time decreasing because gravity is increasing)

I understand that there is coordinate acceleration and proper acceleration, and am wondering is this fits the criteria for one or the other

Also if this is true would this imply that gravitational time dilation causes acceleration, and that acceleration and curvature are somehow related

Is this correct or am I way off

Thanks for any help edger to learn

For these sort of situations you can safely describe things using Newtonian gravity. Over the distances of falling objects one can take the acceleration due to gravity as being constant. Any effects due to general relativity are going to be tiny.

Your real question is if geodesics and acceleration are related. Well, yes they are related.