The Pacific Ocean

Ant Sinclair

From looking into your other questions, it looks like about half the atmospheric oxygen is produced by phytoplankton (I haven't looked to see where the rest comes from) and the Pacific makes up about half the area of the world's oceans. So, in principle, this would reduce the oxygen production by 25%. Which would be pretty bad.

I'm have no idea what the lifetime of oxygen in the atmosphere is, so I don't know if we would all be dead in a year or if we would have centuries to try and fix the problem ...

Thanks for Your reply Strange! , Again I'm no expert except in My Own field but doesn't the phytoplankton also absorb CO2? And if the phytoplankton dies, and the CO2 output continues at present levels the reulting mix of reduced O2 & and higher levels of CO2 wouldn't be very good would they??? ?

Thanks for Your reply Strange! , Again I'm no expert except in My Own field but doesn't the phytoplankton also absorb CO2? And if the phytoplankton dies, and the CO2 output continues at present levels the reulting mix of reduced O2 & and higher levels of CO2 wouldn't be very good would they??? ?

Good point. Almost certainly true.

Although I have no idea what proportion of CO2 is taken up by plankton.

And then you have the knock-on effects on the rest of the food chain.

If the phytoplankton on the Pacifics' Surface All dies off, would this cause negative consequences for Man-Kind because of less Oxygen production into Earths' Atmosphere?

I actually think that it won't make that much of a difference. The current atmospheric O2 levels have been established some 2.5 bya and have been quite stable ever since, even during great extinctions.

Good point. Almost certainly true.

Although I have no idea what proportion of CO2 is taken up by plankton.

OTOH, all of those die-offs will (eventually) reduce the removal rate of O2.

...Although I have no idea what proportion of CO2 is taken up by plankton.