IUPAC naming help

aoarias

Ok so I am reviewing for an exam and I got stumped on this compound. I cant figure out how to name with multiple OH branched off but my guess was 5-methol-7-methyl-2-butanol. Ignore that circle around that carbon I drew this online to show the problem.

xggubl.jpg

Edited by aoarias

I am a completely novice at this - so do not take this seriously - but I count a lot more carbons in main chain than four

I count an eight chain alcohol (7-octanol) - with two other groups at the 2,4 . one a methyl the other seems to be more like an ethanol

The depths of memory lead me to the fact that you always number such that the number is the lowest possible.

Take the longest chain, number so that it is lowest, name the groups...

But I am getting to the end of my knowledge - help HyperV

Propyle and methol are not part of IUPAC naming conventions. When you have an alcohol substituents coming off your parent chain like that, it is written as n-hydroxyalkyl (5-hydroxymethyl in this case).

Edit: if the chain were bigger, you would also specify the position of the hydroxy group and put the name in brackets. For example, 5-(2-hydroxyethyl)-1-octanol.

thanks Hyper - that would allow me to make a fairly confident stab at the answer. I couldn't find how to name the alcohol substituent - mainly because I didnt know the word substituent and was searching on "alcohol hanging off main chain +IUPAC" which didnt get me good results

No results found for propyle site:www.chem.qmul.ac.uk/iupac/

No results found for methol site:www.chem.qmul.ac.uk/iupac/

This search form looks at IUPAC recommendations with a URL starting http://www.chem.qmul.ac.uk/iupac/ It excludes biochemical recommendations on enzymes, enzyme kinetics, biochemical thermodynamics, and recommendations made by IUBMB only.

-----

citations are just like london buses - you wait all morning for one to come along and suddenly two come around the corner