What Does Law Means? Fair? Unfair?

Nicholas Kang

We follow laws all over the world. I am a secondary school student. In my school, the discipline unit listed a few prohibited items that should not be brought to school. Students should follow them. In the true world, we have international laws and protocols. Laws have their functions. I classify them into clear/obvious and non-obvious. It is very obvious that the international laws and protocols have a obvious meaning of punishing those who are wrong. The non-obvious meaning is teaching us lessons and warning us not to repeat mistakes.

However, the school laws are the opposite. For example, prohibited items are mostly dangerous items like knife, guns, weapons and so on. But, is it fair if I say liquid correction fluid and tissues are prohibited items? I did ask my principal, he told me the following reasons.

Correction fluid: It may be used by students that opt for vandalism and use that to draw tables and spoil chairs.

Tissues: It might be used by students that use them and throw it into the sink in the Science Lab and thus clogging the sink.

How unfair it is. You must understand that not all school students do vandalism and misuse tissues. Law punish people after they did something wrong. But prohibited items like those that I have mentioned above shouldn`t be prohibited items. Prohibited items are under strict school law control. Law in school, on the other way, obviously wants to teach you lesson and not repeat and only if you do it then you will be punished, the opposite of international, national laws and protocols.

This way of punishment brings to me a lot of disadvantages.

What does law means? Fair? Unfair?

Edited by Nicholas Kang

My perception of the law is that it is about effective regulation of society and the interactions of members of that society. In general, I think fairness is incidental.