tips for study/memory/concentration?

JAMJO

Hello,

I'm a student of medical science and entering postgrad medicine when i finish. I am curious to know how others study and things they've found effective.

I study constantly but feel like i don't get as much out of my time as I should. I just drink a lot of coffee, which at time i feel is counter productive as it interferes with my sleeping patterns and i more than often don't get enough sleep, leaving me constantly exhausted and feeling like a need more caffeine just to get anything done.

I'm interested in foods, pills, methods etc. that people have used and have have had positive results for memory, attention, energy etc. If you haven't personally used a method but are interested in the topic for yourself, feel free to give some names of/ links to research papers. i've been looking into nootropic. has anyone used them and has an opinion? I've also been looking into Modvigil, an over the counter pill for shift workers that apparently focuses, improves memory energised and without making you feel like your heart is about to jump out of your chest (like with caffeine). However i'm unsure about safety/long term effects of it.

So, yeah. Do you have you any secretes foods, pills or methods that work for you? I'm a neuroscience major so don't hold back if you want to talk about this on a biological and or chemical level.

Thanks in advance.

I was just reading about scientists erasing and restoring memories

http://www.collective-evolution.com/2014/06/06/scientists-learn-to-selectively-erase-restore-memories-in-the-brain-at-will/

I understand this is with mice, but they are talking about it could be a breakthrough cure for alzheimers, Not quite what you was asking,

But i found this interesting

This is the very first piece of public evidence that strengthening or weakening connections between neurones in the brain can influence particular memories.(1)