seeing events in reverse order???

physica

I'm most probably being a bit silly here but unfortunately relativity doesn't come as easy to me as it does to others. My lecturer was saying that if event A happened then event B one observer can whiteness event A then event B but another observer can witness event B then event A. How can this happen. I'm guessing one of the observers has to be moving relative to the events. This isn't homework this is me being an idiot towards the concept. (I'm a second year undergrad in physics so don't shy away from the maths if it's needed)

I'm guessing one of the observers has to be moving relative to the events.

That's what is required.

Einstein used the example of a train and two strokes of lightning, which are simultaneous in one frame but not in the other. Choosing a different set of conditions, you could reverse the order.

http://www.bartleby.com/173/9.html

There's a fair amount of discussion of this here. Search on some combination of simultaneity Einstein train and you'll find other threads.

I'm most probably being a bit silly here but unfortunately relativity doesn't come as easy to me as it does to others. My lecturer was saying that if event A happened then event B one observer can whiteness event A then event B but another observer can witness event B then event A. How can this happen. I'm guessing one of the observers has to be moving relative to the events. This isn't homework this is me being an idiot towards the concept. (I'm a second year undergrad in physics so don't shy away from the maths if it's needed)

To fix the ideas , assume that event A has coordinates [math](x_A,t_A)[/math] and event B coordinates [math](x_B,t_B)[/math], both measured in the SAME frame F. Also assume that , for example, [math]t_A>t_B[/math] and [math]x_A>x_B[/math]

From the perspective of frame F' , moving wrt. F at speed v:

[math]t'_A=\gamma(v)(t_A-\frac{vx_A}{c^2})[/math]

[math]t'_B=\gamma(v)(t_B-\frac{vx_B}{c^2})[/math]

so,