Heritability of IQ- what does it mean?

CharonY

One of the recurrent arguments posts that are made touch upon intelligence in humans and its heritability. Almost in every case there are serious misconceptions that result in the same type of often fruitless discussions conducted over and over again.

In this thread I would like to clear up some issues to the best of my abilities. While I will stick to present literature, I am not an expert in the area of intelligence research. Hopefully, I will provide enough information to start a proper discussion or at least to clear up some low-level confusion.
I will preface by stating that many studies utilize measures such as IQ, which is generally accepted not to be a precise measure of intelligence. Nonetheless there is more comparable data using this type of measurement and I will start the discussions centered around this simplified measure.

The first obvious question is: "What is heritability?"
What some erroneously assume is that it is fixed value that indicates the genetic influence of a given trait. For example, various literature estimate heritability of IQ to be between 0.4-0.8 and some equate that to saying that IQ is up to 80% under genetic control. However this interpretation is not correct. The estimation of heritability is given as the ratio of genetic variation to total variation in a trait within a given population. What often causes confusion is the population bit. It actually means that (in this case) up to 80% of the observed variance across individuals is genetic. This is completely different to the assertion that 80% of the trait is under genetic control.

This has several consequences:

1) Obviously using this measure you cannot elucidate the contribution of environment and genetics to the individual. In other words, in one person the genetic component to their IQ may be high, in another it may be low, but the measure of heritance will not resolve that.