Are poly bags a good material to store medications?

lizfromizz

I take my anti anxiety medication as needed (klonopin), and there are times I don't take any meds for months if not years so I would like to preserve them as best as I could:

So basically I am looking for long term storage of my medication and I believe poly bags, (the ones that say 100% virgin polyethylene film) are made out of polyethylene which is chemically inert, which possibly means its a perfect long term storage bag for medicine.

However, I am no expert so I just wanted to confirm this with someone knowledgeable in this. Am I correct? I will put my meds into a poly bag, and wrap that into a foodsaver bag and vacuum seal. The foodsaver bag is made out of polyethylene & Nylon. (The medicine will only touch the poly bag and not the foodsaver bag).

What do you guys think?

Also does it matter which type of poly bag i purchase or are they all chemically inert? there seems to be different descriptions such as: ..."100% virgin High Clarity Polyethylene Film" or "100% virgin High Density Polythylene (HDPE)" or "100% virgin Low Density Polyethylene (LDPE)"

This is just an educated guess, but I think that pill bottles being opaque or at least yellow or brown is meant to help shield the meds from UV, a functionality you may lose with a poly bag.

So if the pills are left in the bottle, they could be sealed airtight any way liz wants and still have the protection the manufacturer intended. Then there are no worries about poly bags and whether they can touch the meds.

So if the pills are left in the bottle, they could be sealed airtight any way liz wants and still have the protection the manufacturer intended. Then there are no worries about poly bags and whether they can touch the meds.

I am storing my meds in a wine cooler for optimal temperatures, but the catch is they are very humid inside.