#1 scotchlady

scotchlady

Quark

• Members
  • 27 posts
  • LocationMadison, WI

Posted 27 December 2007 - 05:48 PM

Hello,

My background is not chemistry, but I have been on a mission to learn...since my significant had his drain cleaning incident...

From my understanding sodium hydroxide will turn into sodium carbonate in time as it absorbs carbon dioxide from the air. How long will this take?? As I understand this depends on how much surface area of the sodium hydroxide is exposed. So for instance if you had some NaOH that was exposed to the air for 6 months...would it that be sufficient time for it to have changed into sodium carbonate?

Thanks,
Jennifer

#2 YT2095

YT2095

Chemistry Expert

• Resident Experts
  • 16,959 posts

Posted 27 December 2007 - 06:08 PM

more that likely yes, 6 months would be quite sufficient I would imagine if it had a reasonable surface area and humidity level.

there are Plenty of other factors that could make an Exception to this sure, but on the whole, you can more or less say there will be a Very significant amount of the carbonate present :)

#3 DrDNA

DrDNA

Perceived Expert In Some Field

• Senior Members
  • 1,464 posts

Posted 28 December 2007 - 02:05 AM

.....I have been on a mission to learn...since my significant had his drain cleaning incident...

What happened?

HELP! HELP! I'm being repressed!

#4 scotchlady

scotchlady

Quark

• Members
  • 27 posts
  • LocationMadison, WI

Posted 3 January 2008 - 06:24 PM

A home project...cleaning out the pipes...

#5 YT2095

YT2095

Chemistry Expert

• Resident Experts
  • 16,959 posts

Posted 3 January 2008 - 06:32 PM

and....?

#6 DrDNA

DrDNA

Perceived Expert In Some Field

• Senior Members
  • 1,464 posts

Posted 3 January 2008 - 06:52 PM

...the suspense is killing me.........

HELP! HELP! I'm being repressed!

#7 scotchlady

scotchlady

Quark

• Members
  • 27 posts
  • LocationMadison, WI

Posted 7 January 2008 - 06:35 PM