Is there any program for automatically counting objects in a picture?

mikejin

Hi I guess this is a question about image analysis. I'm looking for an automated method of counting the number of bats in pictures, like the one below. I don't have a background in CS, so preferably I need something that doesn't require any programming. Please let me know if there exists anything that fits this purpose. Thanks in advance.

FYI this is for my senior project. I'm studying how Mexican free-tailed bats synchronize their emergence. For instance, how does their echolocation intensity correlate with this group behavior. (Maybe someone will be interested in this)

IMG_4399.thumb.JPG.3ecc358efeaca7ada2e56ad83b53d652.JPG4.thumb.PNG.6114e0157614a4ad9f2fa2be904c5e35.PNG

I could probably write something but in order to get a fairly accurate count I would need a video or at least a couple of pictures.

Basically you can find the differences between 2 pictures aka the moving birds. Then create a spritesheet from the data and all you would need to do is count the length of the returned array.

If you don't feel like coding it yourself you can use adobe photoshop to find differences between 2 photos and https://www.codeandweb.com/texturepacker/tutorials/how-to-create-a-sprite-sheet will generate the spritesheet and return a count of sprites.

Edited by fiveworlds

23 hours ago, fiveworlds said:

I could probably write something but in order to get a fairly accurate count I would need a video or at least a couple of pictures.

Basically you can find the differences between 2 pictures aka the moving birds. Then create a spritesheet from the data and all you would need to do is count the length of the returned array.

If you don't feel like coding it yourself you can use adobe photoshop to find differences between 2 photos and https://www.codeandweb.com/texturepacker/tutorials/how-to-create-a-sprite-sheet will generate the spritesheet and return a count of sprites.