Source{d}

fiveworlds

A guy called Petros Koklas from source{d} emailed me about how he had read my github page asking if I was willing to work in Paris in frontend development for a company called zen.ly and if I knew React or wheter I would be willing to learn React. Is source{d} a scam or not and if not do you think it is worthwhile learning React right now??

Edited by fiveworlds

It is a real company(sourced.tech), but people have also used their name as part of a scam.

Should be fine as long as you exercise caution and check any addresses and phone numbers against external sources.

React looks fairly popular at the moment. Probably wouldn't hurt to learn.

Edited by Endy0816

If it was real it would have been great six months ago before I started college I don't intend on leaving college to pursue it anyway. This is the email I received.

Hi David,

I am a Developer Relations Engineer at source{d}, we are working on improving developer recruitment. We have analyzed your open source contributions on Github and we think that you could be a good fit for the position as Frontend Engineer at Zenly (https://zen.ly/). Since we are actively helping them search for the right engineer to tackle their specific challenge, I thought I’d reach out.

Zenly is developing a location sharing app which is built on top of a powerful, precise and extremely battery-efficient continuous location technology. Although they are very discreet, they have already generated several million downloads, and their active user base is growing by 7% each week since more than a year. They reached a million users twice as fast as Twitter and are on a long-term mission to reach a billion. Their HQ is located in Paris, and they also have offices in SF. They have recently raised €22M with the first investors of Twitter, Uber and Snapchat. TechCrunch news here: https://t.co/PLVXxHOmOW