PhD's and people doing research. I need some advice.

Elite Engineer

So I've been doing research for a diagnostics company for a few months now. I've slowly been learning the in's and out's of the lab, the work flow, data analysis, running assays more cleanly, etc. The other day the Director of Research (my supervisor) pulled me aside and said I was doing well on lab performance, but I am lacking in knowledge about the flow of the project, and I need to ask more questions, read more about the machinery, protein research, and slowly prepare myself to becoming more independent in the lab etc. My supervisor is very rational, and I see the angle of what he's saying...he's not one of those bosses where someone says "he just told me to work harder"..no not the case. However, he tends to be vague with these kind of suggestions..and I know why, because he wants me to delve into the material and figure out for myself..which I 100% respect, and understand.

My question is for those of you who are in higher up positions in research, run labs, or just generally have experience in research, what do you suggest I do to make myself an overall better researcher? I'm trying to get familiar with everything and in-depth as fast and as much as possible. I do enjoy my work, and would like to become better.

To sum it up:I thought I was progressing well, with this being my first research job out of college. At the end of the discussion, he said "you're doing ok, about average, but I need you to be above average".

Thanks,

EE

This sounds at least a little unfair. I'm not 100% sure if I got it right, but are you unable to do enough vs. what is expected? Was a schedule of what was expected laid out?