Why is our tap water making us sick?

MamaLovesLipstick

First, let me say this is my first time at this forum and didn't know where else to turn.

Here's our problem in short. We are renting a home that is making us sick and it seems to be coming from the tap water. When we drank the water we'd get stomach pain, nausea, vomiting, and diarrhea. So we switched to bottled water and all the symptoms went away. We repeated this process a few times of a period of weeks and months. When I say we, I am referring to our entire family.

The water company did a so called "extensive water testing" at the request of us and our landlords. Tests were done from the kitchen sink and outside the house at the meter. All tests fell within EPA standards. The only noticeable difference between the house and at the meter; the "iron" level was high inside the house. The water is always a reddish brown color first thing in the morning. It turns clear after running for 4 to 5 minutes, but becomes discolored after sitting unused for about an hour.

We even installed a two-stage filter under the kitchen sink. This did not help, we continued to get sick from the filtered tap water. My doctor also ran blood tests for potential toxicity, which also came back negative. Mind you, I had stopped drinking the water weeks prior and was told by the doctor to stop drinking it.

When cooking, I'm also using the bottled water. However, there have been a few occasions when I forgot and used the tap water to rinse lettuce and steam rice. Each time, including last night, we get the same sick symptoms for less than 24 hours.

I have a YouTube video of the water and a copy of the water lab report, but was uncertain if I could post them.

Is the iron in the water making us sick? Could it be something else that is going undetected? Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you - Mama